Britain’s most romantic ruin: Whitby Abbey

DSC09411

DSC09432

DSC09492

DSC09504

Sunday, 1 February 2015

It’s a long way to Whitby and the famous Abbey there, which was dubbed the UK’s most romantic ruin in 2011. I went from Keighley to Leeds and then Leeds to Scarborough by train, then an hour by bus to Whitby. I got there as the sun was on its way down, and climbed the 199 steps to the Abbey, at my “own risk” according to a sign at the top.

Whitby Abbey is gorgeous, and I have to agree with its description. It was built in the 13th Century atop a hill overlooking the town and surrounding areas on three sides, and the North Sea on the other. Brrrrr! The cold winds blowing across my face weren’t bearable for long!

I enjoyed the trip there, long though it was. Three and a half hours each direction. I made it back though! Julie says it’s great that I’m making an effort to do the less-touristy things. I’m afraid I don’t have much to say about it beyond that, but I took some pictures, so they should make up for it.

Monday, 2 February 2015

Lingered around the house today so that I could have a bit of a rest. It does get exhausting travelling so I’m trying not to overdo things. Tomorrow I’m off to Edinburgh for two days, so I want to be up and out the door early.

Started sorting through photos. I really have taken a few! Also tried to make a start on the Pirate Times article I promised to have ready for tomorrow. It’s been really hard to put down in writing what I want to actually say.

Julie and Levi came home and we watched a bit of telly and had dinner. Turns out Julie hates University Challenge, but I don’t mind it. It’s hard not to recall the famous episode of The Young Ones though (“ra ra ra, we’re going to smash the oiks!”). I am surprised that Oxbridge colleges do remarkably well — every episode I’ve seen has had one of them win a landslide victory. I guess the brightest of Oxbridge must be the brightest all round.

Also, Nick Clegg was on The Last Leg — what?!

Author: Mozart Olbrycht-Palmer

Pirate Party Australia Deputy Secretary and Press Officer. Former member of the Pirate Parties International Court of Arbitration.